Auto-Amazement

February 22, 2010

Wifebian and I came back from a little jaunt to our previous city where we spent a great weekend with some very raunchy, loud, and fantastic friends.

Two of those friends are straight and are planning to start ttc in the next few months. They were head over heels curious to ask Wifebian and I all about everything as it relates to the lesbian world of trying to conceive. In general, people are always so astounded and awestruck to hear about the things we have to go through. They say things like, “Oh my God, I could not handle that.” That makes me feel really awesome. Seriously. Like, yes, I *am* doing this ridiculously difficult thing, aren’t I?

And also, people really dont know a lot about getting pregnant. At first, I was like, you’re straight! Dont you know about this stuff? Aren’t All Things Sperm imprinted on that frantic mind of yours since it’s been locked in an eternal battle against unplanned pregnancy for the past 15 years?

Then, I was like, wow — maybe I just know a lot of stuff. I mean, lady-friends, we are teaching one another an ass-load of very valuable information. We have this knowledge-base that most people don’t even know they could have. Who knew?!

So, what I’m saying is. We are working really hard. And we know a lot of stuff.

Let’s be amazed by ourselves for a moment, shall we?