Sup, New Cube?

September 28, 2010

So, my new health insurance offers lifetime coverage of up to 5,000 dollars for infertility. IUIs and progesterone, and clomid and sonograms and shots will be covered, which is awesome.

But probably not sperm, right? Neither my agency, nor Wifebian’s offers a health savings account, so we will prolly have to scrape together 1,000.00 per month on our own to pay for sperm. Or, we find free sperm. Both seem unlikely. Wifebian has taken a $10,000 pay cut moving into her new job. I have taken a $3,000 cut. We know no local, liberal men.

Options include:

1.) We could stay with the old bank, which is 400.00 bucks a month, but switch donors. Which would make sperm more affordable, but fuck me if I go back to that place and the next donor’s counts suck again.

2.) We could put out ads in the local papers looking for liberal, young, gay men with lots and lots of patience for reproductive shenanigans, but that is a little, um, beyond the pale, in a weird, utopian, creepy sort of way. Not to mention, a long shot.

3.) We could also, in some equally weird manuver, ask our blog friends to recommend their donor to us and use that wacky overnight sperm collecting/shipping service. I seriously have daydreams about this being the perfect soultion. Brave new community or creep-tastic? Mostly, a long shot, really.

4.) We could wait until NHSC pays off my student loans, which would allow us to buy good / expesnsive sperm every other month, but there is no way my loans will be paid off by December, which is when my insurance kicks in. Also, I turn 33, like, yesterday. Not a lot of time to wait.

5.) Wifebian could find some tutoring gigs and I could provide some private therapy. I did, afterall, just buy some liability coverage and will be providing intake and assessments on a contractual basis at my old job. Maybe I can just try to take on some outpatient clients through them; that woudl require a round trip commute of 4 hours 3 days a week. Or I could find my own clients in Asheville. Brave new world. We would have to scrape together 15-20 clients per week. Serious work.

6.) Re-approach first known donor who turned us down and also approach these two other guys with whom we are friends up in D.C.

What do you think? Have I left any stones unturned? Any other ideas? I’m grateful I have a couple of months to gear up for this next round.

Oi.

14 Responses to “Sup, New Cube?”

  1. LPC said

    Ask for donations on your blog. I’m in for $100:).

  2. Sarah said

    tough spot love. the $5k coverage from insurance is awesome though and using those tools could increase your chances. double check to make sure they don’t cover sperm. some do. probably not in states like ours, but the $5k is a glimmer of hope. what if you just did one very well timed, RE assisted and monitored IUI and just bough one vial? it would be $418 at the cryo bank i was considering: http://www.nwcryobank.com/63,pricingforproductsandservices

    side note, the counselor i’m going to see is a social worker. put an ad out there in your local area and see if you could get a couple clients that way? i think you’d be just wonderful.

    good luck hun. i’m sorry it’s so hard right now. you will be on the the other side, i just KNOW it.

  3. Debbie said

    That’s a nice idea LPC had. I’ll happily chip in, though I’m afraid I can’t contribute as much.

    It sucks that even though one vial seems sort of affordable, it adds up when you factor in registration fees for the bank plus long profiles plus shipping. TSBC, which we used, was $560/vial plus shipping plus registration, which adds up fast, but was still slightly under $1000/month. It was good stuff though, in our experience, and worth it.

    • mrsbasement said

      did you guys use an identity release donor?

      • Debbie said

        We did. He got 7 ladies pregnant before me, and it worked for me on the first try. Not sure if it was crazy luck or good sperm or what. (It’s also VERY EARLY for me so I’m in that hoping-it-sticks stage.)

        Whatever you do, I SO recommend picking someone who’s known to knock up the women. That was the main piece of advice some formerly very frustrated people gave me.

  4. kate said

    Did you call Gayle at Feminist? I wonder if she’d have some ideas? Also, I think you should have a serious conversation with our friend in Australia. I mean…he’s gorgeous, right? And he loves you. We talked about it briefly when he was in Ca. I felt an openness there.

    • mrsbasement said

      I havent called Gayle. I mentioned it once to our friend in Australia, he changed the subject quickly 🙂 Besides, Bio-tranz, the sperm shipping um, way, is only for the continental US. He doesnt plan on returning anytime soon, i dont think.

  5. mrsbasement said

    OK katie, I’ll call today.

  6. Nicole said

    Btw, I’m totally in support of the kickstarter idea and would be HAPPY to donate. I’ve been hoping to be able to pay it forward a bit since people were so generous with their meds for me. But since I don’t have more meds, this seems like a great idea 🙂

  7. When I was living in Asheville, I actually posted an ad on Craigslist and got several responses from liberal guys who wanted to help us start a family. It’s a random shot, there are some crazies out there. If you do this, I’d suggest talking to the potential donor for a while before you actually meet them so that you’re sure they’re really willing to put in the work to be a known donor. The shipping method can be done other than through bio-tranz. You can ship it with dry ice in a tight container. I have friends who had success with this method. There are a few yahoo groups for women and donors to meet up. Search out FREE SPERM DONOR and join a group. There are quite a few guys in the NC area who are registered as donors there. If purchasing sperm, I’d suggest NW because they are cheaper than the others and the counts are better than what I got from using a name brand bank.
    BEST OF LUCK on the baby making!

Leave a Reply

