Plug Love

August 7, 2010

So, I show up at a client’s mom’s house and she says that the client and her live-in boyfriend are out getting p!gt@!7s. And I say,”What?” and she says the word again that I dont really understand but I say,  “Oh, OK,” because she doesnt have any teeth and that accent and also she is a little stand-offish and I would just feel dumb asking a third time.

Toward the middle of the session, we warm up to one another (we have to warm up to one another all over again every session) and the word comes up again. I admit that I have no idea what she said and she says more clearly, while looking at me, “Pigtails.” And I say, “What’s a pigtail!?” And she explains that a pigtail is a three-pronged plug. Not a two prong. And not a four prong. A pigtail is an electrical cord with a three-pronged plug.

Except, she said, “Prawn.”

I say, “I didn’t know that!” And she says, “Me neither,” and I say, “Thank you for teaching me something new; I love learning new words!” And she doesnt say anything back because she is has borderline intellectual functioning, suffers from untreated depression and has an extensive history of trauma.

At least, that’s what I say to myself when she ignores me.

7 Responses to “Plug Love”

  1. liberationtheory said

    oh wow. i had to read this four times just to make sure i wasn’t off for not understanding her definition.

  2. fwiw, i used to do a lot of theatre lighting, and we called the cords and (three-pronged) plugs that come off of a lighting unit (as distinct from cables, etc.) pigtails.

    • mrsbasement said

      nice! in what region of the country did you do this theater lighting? and do you know this term to be of theater use trans-regionally?

  3. Lindsay said

    I grew up outside of Asheville and find those “southernisms” to be the most charming part of mountain living. I still have to explain to people what a “holler” is and have expressions I’ll never stop using like “she was ill as a snake” or “bless your little heart” (which is primarily a subtle insult).

    • also from NC, and i love how saying “bless her heart” allows you to say the most terrible things afterwards. “bless her heart, but she ain’t got no more sense than that sugar shaker.”

Leave a Reply

