Job Update

August 5, 2010

Not to keep you guys in suspense about the job interview, I mean, it went well. But they are asking me to take an $18,000.00 pay cut and Wifebian and I are having a hard time wrapping our collective head around that. That, and the fact that Wifebian and I might have to live apart for a few months until she finds a job in Asheville with insurance.

I have a second interview this coming Monday. I want to take the job, Wifebian does not. The household is rife with conversations about money, debt, love, kids, home ownership and marriage.

We should all, like, secretly tape record our marital money talks and post them on our blogs. We can call it Money Mondays and be amazed by the depth and breadth of our collective sufferings, our collective possibilities.

I mean, how do people do this stuff? Jobs, insurance, kids . . . Oh, yeah.

They get married and then they get a job and then they get insurance and then they get their wife insurance and then they move together to their new city and then they knock up their wife for free!

(You think that bemoaning your lot by comparing yourself to your heteroseuxal counterparts will make you feel better, but actually it doesn’t. And it makes your heterosexual counterparts feel bad.

Sorry, heterosexual counterparts.)

Hey! Didja hear about California?

3 Responses to “Job Update”

  1. isa said

    In my case it helps that the heterosexual counterparts I’m closest to have a setup that is much queerer than usual, so we come out about even in the end. 18K is a lot of a pay cut if you’ve already taken a big reduction to move to where you are now–five years and you’ll have earned that 60K in the job you’re at (if you don’t kill everyone there first). Sounds like a tough decision to make.

  2. Oh, one thing that makes me feel better in comparing myself to heterosexual counterparts is that I regard my apathy toward kids as bound up with my queerness. What I mean (since obvs this is not universally true, see also: your blog) is that queerness gave me much more freedom in thinking about whether I want kids and realizing (a long time ago, with no self-recrimination) that I don’t. I think not wanting kids if you’re a straightnik is a more complicated thing. So anyway this is a whole set of life complications I don’t have to think about or plan for. Yay.

  3. good luck on the interviews!! losing 18k but having the loans forgiven does have its perks. Think of all the money you spend on loans = $6k a year! you’ll be losing the debt plus some but it’d be worth it not having all that interest and student loan stuff hanging over you, in my opinion.
    I don’t personally know any heteros that have had to go through all the stuff we’ve went through to get preggo. They don’t have to jump hoops just to get a RE to see them or answer really annoying questions. I appreciate their struggles to time their sex life around ovulation but it hasn’t really compared to planning the timing of getting the sperm, the ovulation and just hoping maybe I can get aroused. lol.
    Good Luck on the interview!

Leave a Reply

