Deep Inside Mrs. Basement

July 11, 2010

Yesterday, I had a slight twinge of nausea in the car. I thought, hey, maybe I’m not out of this pregnancy game just yet. Then, last night I woke up at 2:30AM and didnt get back to bed until, like, 5. This morning I came to with a headache and sure enough, nausea, headache and insomnia are all side effects of Lexapro.

That’s right. In honor of the end of this round of TTC, I started back up with a new antidepressant. The first three days have been wonderful. By day two, my little fog of guilt and despair had lifted. I am hoping that hitting on the right anti-depressant will increase my motivation and bring this steady stream of critical criticisms to a slow trickle. Not so far, though.

This begs the question, what if thats just me? What if I’m just a lazy wench? Except now, on Lexapro, I’ll be lazy, wench-y and happy about the whole damn thing. Guilt kept me from taking the plunge from lazy wench-i-tude into slovenly asshole-osity. But, what if the Lexapro takes away the guilt? Who will I become  when I don’t even feel bad about being dirty and mean?

Oh, hey. Wait a minute. Actually, now, that I think about it, that might be kinda nice . . .

3 Responses to “Deep Inside Mrs. Basement”

  1. The Professor said

    Who needs guilt?!! Well, some people probably need it, but not you. 😉

  2. Nicole said

    Guilt blows. If you’re gonna be lazy and wench-y then by all means embrace it. Maybe instead of guilt stopping you from falling into the pit of the sloven asshole it’ll be the fact that you’re now, like, officially all therapist-y and shit. And if you do fall into the hole then embrace that too. Wifebian will still love you. And we will too.

  3. wasabi said

    I’m on the same med, and as I’m sure you know it takes time to kick in. From my own experience, it does help with anxious thoughts. Hope it works well for you! Also, as I second what Nicole said about giving yourself a break and embracing the lazy.

Leave a Reply

