“Hand in Unloveable Hand”

April 22, 2010

All this talk of divorce has me feeling reminiscent for the good-ole days of my own heart-wrenching break up. After most of it was over, I endeavored to make a universal divorce mix CD because I didnt want another person to go through what I went through without a good mix CD.

I only came up with the following. Wont you please throw your suggestions into the mix?

Displaced: Azure Ray

Options: Pedro the Lion

Limit to Your Love: Feist

You Have Been Loved: Sia

All Apologies: Nirvana

No Children: The Mountain Goats

Army: Ben Folds Five

There is also the song “D-I-V-O-R-C-E”, but Tammy Wynette, but it’s not my taste. If you havent heard “No Children”, you really have to. I blared it in the living room, singing and dancing, during the last days of my first arrangement. I can’t remember now why that was even remotely OK, but for some reason it was. It was fun and funny . . . “I hope I LIE and tell everyone you were a good WIFE . . . ”

It’s like an Irish drinking song.

8 Responses to ““Hand in Unloveable Hand””

  1. Hi, Just stumbled across your blog. Good luck with it all.
    Many, many years ago I was trying to work out whether to end a relationship or not when Last Goodbye by Jeff Buckley came on the radio. It was surely a sign! (And thus ended the relationship…..)

  2. there’s an anne marie akin (folksinger in chicago) one i’ve always liked, “obvious.” best for the dump-ee. the chorus:

    baby, don’t call me
    when you’re lonely.
    that phone line’s been cut.
    don’t call me
    to say you made a mistake.
    honey, that part’s obvious.

  3. A. said

    I just want to say that G. and I love the song “No Children” but one of our biggest points of contention is that he thinks it is a ROMANTIC song. He thinks it’s all about how two fucked up people in a fucked up relationship are perfect for each other. This gets me really riled up. I don’t know what that says about our marriage. 🙂

  4. Nicole said

    This is Col’s area of expertise (well, pretty much anything that calls for a soundtrack is her area, not mine) so I asked her to weigh in. Her picks are:

    She’s Gone – Hall and Oats
    Get Gone – Fiona Apple
    What Goes around…- Justin Timberlake
    Piece of My Heart – Janis Joplin
    Goodbye to You – Scandal
    Ex Factor – Lauren Hill
    Shake it Off – Mariah Carey
    Not Gon’ Cry – Mary J
    Good Riddance – Green Day

    And apparently her all time fave is Best of You – Foo Fighters.

  5. Sarah said

    I have the very bad habit of listening to Meshell Ndegeocello’s “Bitter” album during the darkest days of any break up since 2003. It’s a run of the most beautiful, depressing, crushing songs one after another.

    http://www.amazon.com/Bitter-MeShell-Ndeg%C3%A9ocello/dp/B00000JZC7

  6. Ms. Loaf said

    Oh, No Children is SUCH a good song. And it’s on an album named after the town I lived in when I went through my breakup.

    I had quite the mix. Also quite lesbian-stereotypical music.

    Where Does the Good Go by Tegan & Sara
    Fuck Was I by Jenny Owen Youngs
    What Can I Say by Brandi Carlile
    Independence Day by Ani Difranco
    Call it Off by Tegan and Sara
    Bodily by Ani Difranco
    Not Your Year by The Weepies
    Last Tears by Indigo Girls
    Scratch by Kendall Payne
    Since U Been Gone by Kelly Clarkson
    Good Things by Sleater-Kinney
    Yr Mangled Heart by The Gossip
    One More Hour by Sleater-Kinney
    96 Tears by ? and the Mysterians
    Modulation by Ani Difranco
    Make This Break This by Bitch
    If Wishes Were Horses by Lucinda Williams
    The Moment You Said Yes by Soltero
    Breathe by Melissa Etheridge
    Keep Breathing by Ingrid Michaelson
    Divorce Song by Liz Phair
    Woke Up New by The Mountain Goats

    and there were more, but that was the core mix. Sigh.

    Pretty much lots of Ani and Tegan and Sara. I can’t listen to “Where Does the Good Go” without tearing up.

  7. starrhillgirl said

    My good friends, and one-time donors, played “No Children” at their wedding. It was great.

  8. Carrie said

    Late to the party here, but I couldn’t resist adding my break-up song suggestions:

    Salamander by The Butchies
    Hop a Plane by Tegan and Sara
    Irreplaceable by Beyonce

Leave a Reply

