How Come Some Natural Disasters Have Names and Others Don’t?

January 15, 2010

I am feeling very emotional about the earthquake. I lived in Miami during the hurricane Katrina season, which ever one that was . . . 5 years ago. So that’s part of it, but it doesn’t feel like all of it.

I’ve just cried a lot today.

I worked 13 and 1/2 hours today, too. It started at 6:45 AM writing a treatment plan and it all ended at 9:00 PM. With me hoisting a man into the window of a client’s house. She had locked herself out, but she blamed me for it —  for various and sundry reasons, both real and imagined.

It was a trying two hours.

I never mentioned it, but I started the Wellbutrin almost three weeks ago.

I am ambivalent about this cycle. I’ve not been temping, my health savings account is not working, but for no apparent reason, according to the operator.  Or customer service rep. Or whoever. I keep trying to see presents for this particular baby, but she’ll be lucky if she even makes it to the twinkle phase.

I’m on a corrective action plan at work. My first ever.

But that’s another post for another day. Suffice it to say only 4 hours of my 13 hour day will “count”.

In the words of Feist, “Life is more unreal than where you’ve been or how you feel,” and while that might be discouraging to some, it puts things into perspective for me.

Sea Lion!

One Response to “How Come Some Natural Disasters Have Names and Others Don’t?”

  1. thebao said

    Ugh, sorry to hear you had such a shitty day. xoxo

Leave a Reply

