Wife Schtick

January 10, 2010

Today was one of those depressing when-will-I-finally-master-being-a-grown-up for-the-love-of-God days where you realize that there is just 90 dollars between you and a zero balance and have to buy everything canned, frozen and generic at some box store super center. One day, about three months ago, I woke up for the first time in my life to find that I had a car payment, a credit card bill and student loans and I was like, how the fuck did this happen?

My career is especially bitter sweet right now. I am making 16,000 dollars less here in the South than I did up North. I have all of the “hours” I need for the next level of clinical licensure, but I havent taken the test yet. Until I do, I have to pay 75 dollars a week for clinical supervision and 20 dollars a month for continuing education credits. Not to mention that the test is $300.00. It’s kind of funny.The sooner I get together 300 dollars the sooner I can stop paying 75 dollars a week, but I cant get the 300 dollars together because I have to keep paying 75 dollars every week. Woah.

In all this month, including student loans, I will have paid almost 750.00 dollars for the honor of taking home less than 12 dollars an hour, once health insurance, retirement and baby-making are paid for. Oh, social work. Oh, society. Oh, woe.

On the bright side, I used a waffle maker for the first time tonight. We got it as a wedding gift. Waffles are Wifebian’s favorite. They added a certain air of whimsy to an otherwise blah day. Breakfast for dinner nights are awesome.

Perhaps the best part about it was that it was our first dinner as a married couple. Seriously. I havent cooked a thing in six months. Unless you count the cake I made for Wifebian in September to celebrate her June 11th birthday.

I have a lot of work to do when it comes to this whole wife schtick.

2 Responses to “Wife Schtick”

  1. alimis said

    Sorry to hear about the job woes. I feel ya about waking up one day and realizing there are a lot of adult bills to pay.
    Love some breakfast for dinner…waffles sound very yummy!

  2. Being a grown-up sucks. My wife is still unemployed with a shitload of college loans from the first, second, and third times around. Thinking about bills & debt makes me nauseous. So what I’m really trying to say, I guess, is that I feel ya.

Leave a Reply

