We Also Like the Name Oliver

November 24, 2009

The first positive OPK came in around 5:30 at the Fishermen’s Wharf. It was dusky and the neon signs were flashing. We were eating over-priced seafood sandwiches and I was waxing poetic about how grateful I am for this one perfect week without work and without in-laws, so full of beautiful friends and beautiful sights and my beatiful wife that I have been given to experience this amazing experience. 

And now, on to the strategy. I called Le!land and he said that I should come in tomorrow at 3:30. He also said it was only worth inseminating once, tomorrow. He made it sound like Thursday and/or Friday just wouldnt be worth it. What do you think? Is it worth it to try to inseminate tomorrow *and* Thursday?

Friday’s just totally dumb right?

 

6 Responses to “We Also Like the Name Oliver”

  1. metalstork said

    We’ve done our insems both of the two days following the +OPK and no luck so I’m inclined to say go with one perfectly timed one tomorrow. However, considering the circumstances – you’re not paying shipping, if they’ll let you come in Thurs, go for it.

    p.s. ollie is our pick for a boy’s name (so far). yay!

  2. A. said

    I have no idea about this stuff but I am wishing you the best! Hopefully the bliss of the delayed honeymoon helps. 🙂

  3. Me said

    I don’t know about any of this ovulation timing stuff, but wanted to chime and say hooray for your vacation and baby making!

  4. m said

    our doc said one try on the first couple go rounds and then two tries on the third. but, obviously, everyone’s business is different. Here’s hoping for success!

  5. MamaDeux said

    Timing is so hard! We obsess about it every single time. I’ve heard many ppl go too early – so you might wait until Thurs? Did you have a really dark line? We always wait until at least 24 hrs after the darkest line. Regardless, I’d do two if you can swing it. And as for Oliver: that’s my (much much) younger brother’s name, and he is the mellowest, smartest sweetheart of a kid. His name fits him perfectly. I’m a big fan. I love that you’re thinking about names, btw! That’s our second biggest obsession, after IUI timing. Good luck this cycle – maybe we’ll get BFPs at the same time. Xmas gifts extraordinaire?

Leave a Reply

