When the Moon Turns Red With Blood

November 2, 2009

My grandmother’s funeral was pretty great. The family hired a bagpipe player to perform his rendition of “When the Saints Go Marching In” as we carried her casket out of the funeral home and into the limo because she said that’s what she wanted. Being a pallbearer was a lot less difficult than I thought it would be. Wifebian and I stayed for a few minutes after the graveside service to watch the men close the grave and noticed little fleur de lys embellishments on the casket.

When we got back to my aunt’s house, we told my mom that we are going to start to try to have a baby in November. She said and did all the right things, which was a comfort considering that when I told her Wifebian and I were getting married, she rolled her eyes and said Mazel Tov with enough sarcasm to sink a small ship. Our weekend was pretty great, in all. The family was great, friends were great and we visited a pair of newborn twins. My Halloween costume, Flo, the Progressive Auto Insurance Lady, was a pretty serious coup.

Wifebian and I got home just about an hour ago. We got a speeding ticket in a county three hours away and the bank shut down her account because we bought so much gas and fast food in so many states in so short a time period. I’ve been curled up in bed since my arrival, catching up on blogs and not preparing for work tomorrow in any way, shape or form. I am especially enjoying Sandra’s post tonight and pleased that Sarah has been so prolific. I heart blogs and bloggers who blog them.

I’ll close this evening with the lyrics to When the Saints; I didn’t realize it was a protest song. On the way up to the funeral, we came across the song “Spirit in the Sky“, which would also be a great tune to have one’s casket recessed to.

On bagpipes. If youre Jewish.

When the Saints Go Marching In

We are traveling in the footsteps
Of those who’ve gone before
But we’ll all be reunited (but if we stand reunited)
On a new and sunlit shore (then a new world is in store)

Oh when the saints go marching in
When the saints go marching in
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

And when the sun refuse (begins) to shine
And when the sun refuse (begins) to shine
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

When the moon turns red with blood
When the moon turns red with blood
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

On that hallelujah day
On that hallelujah day
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

Oh when the trumpet sounds the call
Oh when the trumpet sounds the call
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

Some say this world of trouble
Is the only one we need
But I’m waiting for that morning
When the new world is revealed

When the revelation (revolution) comes
When the revelation (revolution) comes
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

When the rich go out and work
When the rich go out and work
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

When the air is pure and clean
When the air is pure and clean
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

When we all have food to eat
When we all have food to eat
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

When our leaders learn to cry
When our leaders learn to cry
Oh lord I want to be in that number
When the saints go marching in

2 Responses to “When the Moon Turns Red With Blood”

  1. A. said

    Hey, I know I’m late on this, but I am so sorry for your loss. I’m glad to hear that the family time went well, though. You deserve a break.

  2. fishes said

    Oh, how I wish I had this blog on my reading list before. I was a pallbearer for the first time for my grandmother in July. It simultaneously saddened and invigorated me. Glad you did it. And wow – that song. I had no idea, either.

Leave a Reply

