A Tale of Two Cybils

August 19, 2009

The day after making that post, me, my hersbian, and my mil went out to dinner. Everyone was in a good mood. Talking about the events of the day, as well as yesteryear. MIL wasn’t silent, I wasn’t bratty, wifebian wasn’t talking ad nauseum about school.

Waiting for dinner to come, digging on wine, beer, iced tea and appetizers mil mentioned that her father’s last name was Barret. I said, “That’s a great name, we should tell [middle sil]” “Yes,” she said, making eye contact and smiling. Middle sil is trying to conceive. Her baby names and reproductive health are a subject of consistent conversation.

I said, “What do you think about Cybil as a baby name?”

“You’re thinking about that as a baby name,” she said.

“Uh-huh. I mean, I imagine it would be complicated with [fil]’s mom being named Cybil and that relationship being so complicated and then, there’s the passed away Cybil (mil’s mother) being so dear and so missed.”

“Well, you know, they are spelled differently,” she said.

And that was it for that.

One Response to “A Tale of Two Cybils”

Leave a Reply

