I Need Your Help

August 14, 2009

Today, I dropped wifebian off at work at 6:10 AM and drove a half hour to the nearest FedEx @ffice. I needed to print and photocopy and mail some stuff for licensure. I got there at 6:30am and slept in the backseat until the 7:30am opening time. The dog was with me.

I had a dream that I was driving in the back seat of a car. My dad was driving and my friend Emma was shotgun. Emma commented that there was something in the car and then went on with other conversation. A rat locked onto my leg and wouldnt let go. Then another rat got my hand. I kept telling them that I was being bitten by rats, trying to keep calm, but they werent paying attention. The wind through the windows and the radio and conversation were loud. I kept saying, calmly, I need your help.

I was finally able to pry the rat off of my hand by placing it between the door frame and automatic window and then putting the window up. I was still calmly asking for help when my dad finally agreed to pull off at the next exit. He used my nickname and this sing-songy voice that he used to use with the dogs. Then I woke up.

Whenever parts of me fall asleep while I’m sleeping, I dream that I am being bitten by rats. Also, the sun had risen, heating the air in the car and stiffling me. It was 8:10 am.

Leave a Reply

